Victory Patterns Hazel Dress

I finished this Victory Patterns Hazel dress and snapped some pictures just in time for Thanksgiving dinner.  This is my second sew with Victory Patterns (see my Ava) and I am once again pleased with the end results.

Victory Patterns Hazel Dress in Chambray (3)

I don’t have to much to say about this project. I just love everything about it! The fabric, the bow, the sleeves, the fit….it’s all perfect in my eyes. The construction was also a breeze! The fabric is from Robert Kaufman’s chambray collection and was purchased from Hawthorne Threads. The fabric for the top is called Dot Chambray in Indigo and the bottom is called  Chambray in Indigo.  I really need to get my hands on some more of the dots. It would make the perfect infinity scarf! I cut a 2 for the top and graded out to a 6 for the waist and hips. I made no other changes and I’m happy with the fit. This dress came together quickly. I was even a good little seamstress and stitched my sleeve bands and hem down invisibly by hand. So happy I took the extra time to do that. That’s all I have….enjoy the rest of the pictures!

Victory Patterns Hazel Dress in Chambray (4)

Victory Patterns Hazel Dress in Chambray (12)

Victory Patterns Hazel Dress in Chambray (13)

Victory Patterns Hazel Dress in Chambray (9)

Victory Patterns Hazel Dress in Chambray (5)

Victory Patterns Hazel Dress in Chambray (6)

Victory Patterns Hazel Dress in Chambray (1)

Piper is saying, “hurry up mom, there is turkey waiting for me at Grandma and Grandpa’s house”.

I plan on trying this pattern with one of the silkier/scarier recommended fabric options. There is no zipper and it’s an easy sew, so it would be a good project to attempt with a silk, georgette, or chiffon. I should have picked up something while I was at The Fabric Store in LA!

I purchased this pattern at my local fabric shop, Five Eighth Seams, buy one get one half off sale. I went a little crazy and purchased 6 patterns that day! It’s not often you can get patterns on sale, so I figured I better stock up. They sell the entire Victory Patterns collection, so I went ahead and picked up the Nicola and Chloe. I can’t wait to try them!

On another note, have you entered the giveaway for the Birthday Dress pattern yet? Here is a pretty little reminder of what you will win.

PicMonkey Collage birthday dress post

For your clicking convenience here is the rafflecopter link again. Hurry up and enter before you forget and miss out!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

See my previous post for more details on this pattern!

43 thoughts on “Victory Patterns Hazel Dress

  1. You just changed my mind about this pattern! I had seen it in passing and never thought it would be something I would sew! Will definitely be purchasing it now! Yours is gorgeous – thanks for sharing!

  2. I really, really love your fabric choices for this dress! Seriously, in love. I have been wanting to try the Nicola for so long, but it won’t be happen ing anytime in the near future, so I really look forward to seeing your version. Great work…as usual!

  3. Beautiful Hazel! I love it in one colour family but two different fabrics :) I also have this pattern and I’ll go and dig through my stash to see if I can make a winter appropriate one!

  4. I adore this! I’ve never really had a desire to buy this pattern until seeing this version. It’s so subtle and understated I bet it will get worn a lot!

  5. This is soooooo beautiful! This pattern has been sitting in my stash for aaaaages and I’ve been struggling to work out what fabrics to make it in. I love the subtlety of the two grey fabrics that you chose – it looks really elegant.

    • Thanks Tilly! I was struggling too! I was originally only looking at silks for it, but then decided to give the chambray (which was actually in my stash for another project) a try. It was a really easy sew!

  6. I love love love this dress, and wonderful fabric choices. I want to make the exact same dress. Is that bad?! I live in CT so we won’t have any embarrassing situations of showing up in the same dress!! Ha ha ha ;)

  7. I love this! I’ve been wanting to make this dress since it was released, and always thought of doing it in silk. But I REALLY like your more casual version of it!

  8. Hey there! Beautiful dress. I am assuming you lined the skirt portion? I have the dot chambray in my stash and it is very sheer. I haven’t ordered the indigo chambray and am curious as to how sheer it is. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

