Introducing Debbie Brooke Designs and a GIVEAWAY!

Hello all! I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving full of family, friends, and of course food! I’m here today sharing some very exciting news…..there is an awesome new pattern company on the block! Brooke, part owner of my local fabric shop, Five Eighth Seams, has been secretly developing her own pattern line for both women and children! If you hadn’t already gathered from the title of this post, the company’s name is “Debbie Brooke Designs”.  Super cute/funny reason she chose this name. I’ll let you read her post introducing her pattern company to find out why. You’ll also get to read about all the other patterns she is developing!

I am extremely honored to have been able to test her first pattern, The Birthday Girl Dress. I don’t even own a human baby girl (believe me, if piper would let me make clothes for her I would be ALL over it), but after seeing a picture of her little girl in the dress I just had to make one!

The Birthday dress is described as “a lined twirly dress with a small layer of tulle to give a petticoat fullness. Although the high neckline is vintage and modest, a decorative pleat and gathered cap sleeves give it a modern twist”. Ok, so I’ll be honest with you…when I saw I had to add tulle, I thought “what did I get myself in to”. If you are having those thoughts, erase them now! With Brooke’s detailed directions the tulle was so silly easy to add and it gives the dress a really nice fullness, making it the perfect “birthday dress”. I’m glad this sweet little dress allowed me to add a new skill to my repertoire. I’ve never sewn with tulle before!

I also really love the fact that the dress comes in sizes 6m/12m, 18m, 2T, 3T, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 12. That’s birthday dresses for a whole lot of birthdays for the price of $14.90!

Ok, ok, ok, enough talking and get to the pictures…right? OOOOOoooooo, are you going to love the pictures! I’m pretty excited about how the dress turned out, so you are going to be seeing A LOT of pictures. I even found a real human baby to model the dress! This will also be another one of those posts where I use the word “love” way too much.

Debbie Brooke Designs-The Birthday Dress (23)

I had originally planned on using my favorite polka dot fabric purchased from Five Eighth Seams for the whole dress. I have used this fabric for so many projects, including a skirt for myself, and I’m still not sick of it yet. On a whim, I decided to look through my scraps to see if I could find something that would coordinate with the polka dots. I came across some scraps from one of my Washi dresses and it was a match made in heaven. The bodice takes such little fabric that I was able to squeeze it out of some seriously scrappy scraps.

I just love the gathered cap sleeves! The bodice has a big pleat in the front allowing you to add the sweet detail of piping, ribbon, or coordinating fabric under the pleat. I love how the details in this pattern allow for using coordinating fabrics, but don’t require the use of coordinating fabrics. Makes for lots of fabric options!

Debbie Brooke Designs-The Birthday Dress (25)

The skirt features some serious gathering to get the optimum “twirly” effect. Boy, can this skirt twirl! Isn’t this every little girls dream dress? I know it would have been mine! Your little girl will be twirling so much that she just might lose her birthday cake….if you know what I mean :)

Debbie Brooke Designs-The Birthday Dress (22)

Love the fullness the gathering and the tulle give!

Debbie Brooke Designs-The Birthday Dress (21)

Debbie Brooke Designs-The Birthday Dress (26)

I saved my 2 favorite pictures for last! Look at that sweet girl playing the piano in her Birthday Dress! The back of the dress features just as many sweet details as the front, buttons and a bow. I think all little girl’s clothing just looks so much cuter with a bow! Buttons are such a cute little closure detail. You can use any size button you want and as many buttons as you want. I chose 2 5/8th buttons and covered them in the same lace I used for her headband.

This babe is about 15 months old and is wearing the 6-12 month size. It fits her great!

The directions for this pattern are detailed and easy to follow. The kind of detail you only get with great indie patterns. Detailed enough that I think a confident beginner could make one.

Ok, I’ve gushed over this dress enough…now it’s one lucky reader’s turn to get to gush over this dress! That’s right….Debbie Brooke Designs is offering the chance for one of you to win a copy of The Birthday Dress pattern. International readers are welcome! Please use the rafflecopter link below and good luck! The giveaway will end December 9th at 12AM EST. The winner will be announced on my blog on the 9th. As for the rest of you, the pattern will be available for pre-sale on December 15th and the official release date will be January 1st!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Are you a retailer? Debbie Brooke Designs would love to share her new pattern line with you! Email her at sewhappy@fiveeighthseams.com or call 843-225-3958 and she will gladly mail you a free copy of the pattern to try!

I just picked up some fabric today to test Debbie Brooke Design’s first dress for women. Stay tuned!!!

12 thoughts on “Introducing Debbie Brooke Designs and a GIVEAWAY!

  1. Hi there
    I am always on the lookout for a special party dress! Your giveaway looks gorgeous! You of course did a fantastic job sewing it up! I love the skirt – looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

